Legal Perspective

Approximately 17% of the world’s population is visually challenged, 2.6% has an intellectual disability, and 1% require a wheelchair for mobility.  Considering the growing importance of web accessibility vis-à-vis the increasing population with varying degrees of disabilities, the World Wide Web Consortium (W3C) created Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) to provide an actionable framework.

W3C Standard Accessibility Guidelines

  • WCAG 2.0 is a gold standard version
  • WCAG 2.1 is the latest version that is an extension of WCAG 2.0

Accessibility Laws

WCAG 2.0 was the gold standard and served as a foundation for international accessibility laws. In several countries across the world, governments are mandating change and starting to enforce compliance with accessibility regulations like ADA, WCAG, Section 508, and other global laws.

Noncompliance is no longer an option

Accessibility needs to be addressed in the near term as you run the risk of facing lawsuits and negative brand impact. Lawsuits are steadily on the rise. ADA related cases in 2020 increased 23% over 2019.

The home page shows a photo of a professional trying to digitally point words such as compliance, policies, standards, rules, and regulations. Scrolling down the page shows a bar chart. The chart represents the rise in cases of A D A related lawsuits from 2018 to 2020. The graph depicts 2314 cases in 2018, 2890 cases in 2019, and 3550 cases in 2020.
*Source: From an article on SD Times. These cases include cases filed in federal court and those filed in California state court under the Unruh Act with a direct reference to violation of the ADA.

Accessibility Global Laws

  • Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA)
  • Section 508 – Rehabilitation Act of 1973
  • Accessible Canada Act (ACA)
  • Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act (AODA)
UK & Europe
  • European Accessibility Act (EAA)
  • Web Accessibility
  • Directive
  • EN 301 549
  • Equality Act 2010
  • Disability Act 2005
  • Disability Discrimination Act (DDA)